top of page

Savior Redeemer of My Soul


AFTER WHAT SEEMS LIKE FOREVER, HOLAAAA otra vez.

Well it has been an interesting ride here in my first week at the field. I guess I´ll just start day by day..

Had my first day in the field with my temporary companions who were both from Utah, Hermana Wilson and Hermana Dalrymple. Super sweet. Been in the mission for about a year. SO hopeful and supportive. Then we had our reunion de cambio and my companion is Hermana Salcedo. She is an angel, loves basketball, loves Tangled, loves Imagine Dragons and loves singing. She´s basically a Latino version of me. However she speaks absolutely no English. Sooo that´s been fun trying to communicate. Let´s just say actions speak louder than words. (: WE ARE IN ATLIXCO. The area with the volcanoooo. It´s a very poor cute town but I love it. We dropped our stuff off at the apartment which is a bright blue cute tiny apartment. Very small but adorable. Reminds me of the up house. THEN we went right to work. Went and had comida with a ward family and she had me give the spiritual thought. Bit overwhelming but was AWESOME cause they understood me and were touched. ALMA 5:26.THen Hermana wanted to walk the town and introduce me to everyone and we had a lesson with one of our investigators but they were just fascinated with me. Gringa. So used to that word now.

Then the days meshed together. We have 4 investigators who are all not progressing very much but we plan to work hard to get them going. THis week our goal is to find two new investigators by wednesday!! Pray that we will be able to do it.

The part of the day I look forward to the most though is study time. It is the time I can prepare myself for the Lord´s work. Study it for yourself and then the Lord will reveal to you and loosen your tongue in the very moment of what you need to say. I have seen so many miracles from that principle. Hermana Salcedo and I have had incredible experiences with companionship study. I don´t understand everything she says, but I feel her spirit. And everytime I teach she cries. Which at first terrified me because I thought I offended her but turns out it´s just the spirit. The spirit is louder than words. I definitely have learned that as the same situation happened when we taught a less active member. Her and her family cried after I talked about the light of Christ (at least I think I did.) and THEY ALL CAME TO GENERAL CONFERENCE THIS WEEKEND. A blessing.

BUt now I´m going to be really honest. IT IS HARD. THe culture and the language is a huge shock. BUt everyone tells me poco a poco I will learn and adapt. And it has tested my faith and patience so much. TO the point that after the wonderful messages of general conference that sincerely every talk was an answer to my prayers, I broke down and cried to God in prayer basically like Joseph Smith saying ¨Oh God wherefore art thou?¨ I then had my first panic attack ever. Haha wow it was interesting. But guess what? God heard me. And spoke to me through my sweet sweet companion. She spoke in the tiny tiny english she had, ¨God love you. Read this scripture.¨

D&C 121:7

Saved my life. I´ve read this scripture time and time again but it was never more profound to me then it was at that moment. SHe then called our district leader for more help and he allowed us to take abreak. She then pulled out a jump drive I´ve never seen before which had BYU VOCAL POINT and David Archuleta on it. WHich was A HUGE TENDER MERCY AND BLESSING. because unfortunately my jump drive of music has failed to work except for like four songs and all the talks of the apostles. It may not seem like much for a normal thing but for me, OH MY, it was huge. We then just belted out singing Savior Redeemer of my Soul.

Just want to end my email with the words of that song. I appreciate all of your prayers. I truly do feel your love an support. I will strive to do better this week and look forward to next week with you all. ADELANTE.

Savior Redeemer of my soul. Whose mighty hand hath made me whole. Whose wonderous power hath raised me up. And filled with sweet my bitter cup. What tongue my gratitude can tell, O gracious God of Israel. Never can I repay thee Lord, but I can love thee thy pure word, hath it not been my one delight. My joy by day, my dream by night. Then let my lips proclaim it still and all my life reflect thy will.

--

Con mi amor infinito,

Hermana Abigail Creer


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page